MFA Now 2013 Juried Exhibition and Archive Project Release
Exhibition Juror: Brian Karl, Curator/Writer; Program Director, Headlands Center for the Arts
Second Saturday Reception: Saturday, February 9, 7-10pm
Exhibition Dates: February 6 – February 23, 2012

Slide Slam: Wednesday, February 20, 7-9 pm 
Presenting Artists: Brittney Cathey-Adams, Pabi Chulo, Arash Fayez, Helga Hizer, Xiaotong Jiang, Amelia Konow, Carmen Lang, Keegan Lutrell, Em Meine, Cate Nelson, Aimee Santos, Sieglinde Van Damme

MFA Now 2013

Root Division presents MFA Now 2013, an archive project featuring Bay Area MFA Candidates and juried exhibition presenting twenty-six of those artists’ work.

According to the US News and World Report survey from 2012, the Bay Area is home to seven of the top one hundred MFA Programs in Visual Arts in the country: California College of the Arts, Mills College, San Francisco Art Institute, San Francisco State University, San Jose State University, Stanford University, and the University of California, Berkeley.

The MFA Now 2013 Archive, is an inclusionary publication of all eligible MFA candidates, set to be released in February 2013 with a full page dedicated to each contributing MFA candidate and a compilation of essays by Juror, Brian Karl, faculty from each MFA program, and Root Division staff. Designed by the Gold Collective, this printed archive will serve to navigate the contemporary moment in Bay Area MFA programs and find connections between the artists and institutions.

Juror, Brian Karl, Program Director of Headlands Center for the Arts, selected twenty-six works from the submitted archive materials to be shown in Root Division's gallery for the month of February. This Second Saturday event serves as an exhibition opening and release party for the archive project. Copies of the archive publication will be for sale at the exhibition opening or during business hours for $20. You may also purchase online with additional $5 for shipping within the United States.

Dalia Anani
Megan Atherton
Gwynessa Balvanz
Barbara Boissevain
Missy Engelhardt
Joey Enos
Taylor Friend
Adam Henderson
Jonathan Huang
Beckey Kaye
Marie-Luise Klotz
Kat MacKinnon
Elizabeth Moran
Sarah Nantais
Eleanor Oakes
Byron Peters
Simon Pyle
Tamra Seal
Dimitra Skandali
Lauren Marie Taylor
Sarah Tell
Kevn Tijerina
Katy Warner
Tali Weinberg
Dawn Weleski
Ansley West Rivers

Root Division is an arts & arts education non-profit located in the Mission District of San Francisco. Root Division's mission is to improve appreciation and access to the visual arts by connecting personal inspiration and community participation. We provide subsidized studio space to working artists in exchange for their service in creating shared learning opportunities for the community. Artists develop creatively and professionally by teaching art to underserved youth, leading adult education classes, and producing exhibitions that showcase local emerging artwork. By combining multiple opportunities for creative exchange, Root Division cultivates an artistic ecosystem that enriches life throughout the Bay Area.

Root Division is supported in part by grants from The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, National Endowment for the Arts / ArtWorks, Phyllis C. Wattis Foundation, Grants for the Arts: San Francisco Hotel Tax Fund, San Francisco Arts Commission / Cultural Equity Grants, Crescent Porter Hale Foundation, Zellerbach Family Foundation, W A Gerbode Foundation, Art4Moore, and Bill Graham Memorial Fund.